What better way to get extra credit than going to a restaurant? The “catch” here is that it’s a networking event! Network with student journalists and hopefully some professionals at the Irish Penny on Tuesday, Oct. 27, from 4-9 p.m. This event is a fundraiser for the Society of Professional Journalists SU chapter, and to help with the fundraiser, you have to bring a flier. Here’s the flier, via Facebook.

An out of the area event is set for 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 5: There’s a Maryland-Pro SPJ and Tweetmasters of Anne Arundel County event coming up called “We’ll do it live!” on using the Periscope live-streaming app. It will be held at Union Jack’s in Annapolis — I certainly won’t hold it against you if you can’t make it, but it does seem like a cool event. Let me know if you want to attend and I can try to get you a spot on an SU bus that I believe will be heading up. Here’s the Facebook event.

Meetings of the campus newspaper, The Flyer, are held at 8 p.m. Sundays in The Flyer office, which is in the Guerrieri University Center near Cool Beans.

I will let you know as I hear of more opportunities. Attending any of these events/meetings will earn you five extra credit points on a quiz. Just get that Extra Credit Sheet signed and brought back to me within a week of the event. If you talk to me personally at an event (to let me know you’re there), then you don’t have to bring in a form.

-Ms. Junkin

